1.877.573.2678

Mon - Friday: 8am-5pm

Tel : 1.877.573.2678 Courriel : info@voyagescoste.ca

Top
 

La Grande Séduction

From 1175.65$

per person

The package “La Grande Séduction” on the typical and fabulous island of Harrington Harbour (place of shooting of the movie that made many Quebecers laugh, also touched by the visual environment of the place), is currently offered by Voyages CoSte* until September 2, 2021.

Price per person in double occupancy, starting at : $1175.65 per person double occ. without taxes.

This stay of pure change of scenery includes a round trip flight from a no less famous village, Natashquan, for three nights spent on the Isle of Legends including an almost day (am and pm) in the administrative center of Chevery on the mainland of the Lower North Shore which is reached by a fast ferry that you will use upon arrival. An adventure ride!

The “art of unplugging” from city life if ever there was one, it happens well here: a fishing village founded in 1871 by Newfoundland families who take good care of their island of barely 250 inhabitants, there is no street in Harrington Harbour. Instead, there are wooden sidewalks and pedestrian bridges. An island to explore as the hours go by slowly. Observation of the daily life of a small village that could be in Patagonia in the south of our Americas. But here we are in maritime Boréalie, in our mid-north of Quebec, straddling the fiftieth parallel. On the island, the all-purpose vehicle is the quad to go to the post office, to buy groceries, to go to work at the seafood processing plant and to carry your luggage between the wharf and your lodge where you will be served tasty meals.

* Cooperative of solidarity in fair tourism, your incoming travel agency dedicated to the Minganie & Lower North Shore regions.

HH vie sereine Alberte

As for the village of Chevery, where the airport is located, chief town of the regional municipality regrouping 5 distant localities, it is the most recent agglomeration on the Coast at this latitude. English is generally spoken in these places of pure discovery; it is because we find ourselves, in this unknown part of Québec-maritime, as if we were exploring a typical excrescence of the Great Granite Rock that is Newfoundland. Some French-speaking families are established in Chevery, which will allow you to benefit from a bilingual guide on the continent.

Departures are every Monday from Natashquan, at the very beginning of the day.

What your package includes:

Flight from Natashquan/Chevery (round trip) Air Liaison

Accommodation for 3 nights in a 2* gite with shared bathroom

Meals : 3 breakfasts, 2 lunches, 3 dinners

1 guided tour of the village of Harrington-Harbour, a right of access to the Rowsell House, a guided tour of the village of Chevery and its surroundings

Traversée de Chevery à Harrington-Harbour pendant le séjour (STQ)

What your package does not include:

Meals, visits and excursions not mentioned in the program

Wine and drinks with meals

Tips

Personal expenses

Travel insurances

Handling of a suitcase

Applicable taxes (GST&QST) and fees (accommodation tax & FICAV).

  • Departure
    June 20 to September 02, 2021
  • Include
    Accommodation
    Meal
  • Not Included
    Taxes and fees
    Tips
    Travel insurance
    Personal expenses
1

Day 1: Mondays, July 19 and 26, August 2, 9, 16, 23 and 30, 2021

(Natashquan - Harrington Harbour - Natashquan and activities on site)

Note for the day before your departure: depending on availability* at Natashquan, we can (for a supplement) include dinner and overnight stay from Sunday to Monday am, the day of your departure by plane. Otherwise, you will have to leave early from your lodging, previously booked in Rivière-au-Tonnerre (base of our cooperative agency), in Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan or in Havre-Saint-Pierre (always according to availability) to be at the Natashquan airport at 9am at the latest. If you stayed the day before in Rivière-au-Tonnerre, calculate a 3-hour drive (so departure at 6am). Otherwise, you should allow 115 minutes (from Havre-Saint-Pierre) to 140 minutes (from Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan) and make sure you have the road CD or the USB road key "Sur la route de Natashquan" to enhance your audio tour. There is no cell phone service on the road, except between Mingan (Ekuanitshit) and a few kilometers after Havre-Saint-Pierre. This being noted, here is your program from Natashquan.

Your departure from Natashquan on Air Liaison is scheduled for 9:50 am. You should arrive at the local terminal one hour before your departure time. Your car will be waiting for you in the parking lot adjacent to the airport (the time you will be in the Lower North Shore as you are leaving this morning the Middle North Shore, more precisely, the Minganie region, to literally go "down" the Gulf of St. Lawrence).

Your flight takes you over the pretty little village of Kegaska (end of route 138 since 2013) and the village of Romaine (Innu community of Unamen Shipu, the most populous east of Sept-Îles, Uashat mak Mani-Utenam). You land in Chevery in time for lunch. You will take a local cab to transfer to the ferry from Chevery to Harrington Harbour Island. Ferry time can vary between 45 to 75 minutes depending on sailing conditions. From this moment on, a different pace of life awaits you as you step onto the Harrington dock. Your hostess, owner of the lodge where you will stay for the next three nights, is waiting for you. Once settled in, you will have the time to orient yourself in the typical village and to integrate gently into your new environment.

Around the dinner table, at supper time, you will have the opportunity to be served a hearty meal (included) of fresh seafood from the local seafood processing cooperative; a cooperative you will have the chance to visit during your stay. You are definitely in a maritime environment and in a town that lives by fishing.

After dinner, a short walk (maybe?) at the end of this day of travel followed by a good and peaceful night of rest.

* The availability of lodging in Natashquan cannot be guaranteed due to an overcrowding of the tourist clientele compared to the available lodging in the summer season 2021. We will check for you.
2

Day 2: Explore your host village, Harrington Harbour.

After your breakfast (included), you will meet your local guide for a guided tour (in English) that will be done on foot. You will be introduced to the particularities of the village, one of the thirty most beautiful villages in Quebec, with its wooden sidewalks, the Christ Church where two religions are practiced, the Jacques-Cartier monument. You will learn more about the old name of the island as Hospital Island (while waiting to talk about Dr. Grenfell), and about Marguerite's Grotto associated with the unusual story of the niece of Sieur La Roque de Roberval who, in 1540, made the crossing of the Atlantic with him. We will also take you to the beautiful interpretation center of the Rowsell House. In addition, those who have seen the film will recognize the main filming locations where a variety of actors appeared, including Raymond Bouchard, David Boutin, Lucie Laurier and Benoît Brière. Two hours are planned for this accompanied tour. Out of respect for private property, we do not go near the windows of houses on the grass or seaweed surfaces. A boat lift is located at the end of a spur of the boardwalk on the right, where you can contemplate daily life and smell the sea air. The boardwalk reaches the last houses of the village on the right. You will be surprised to see an outdoor municipal pool in this unique village in Quebec.

Back at your lodge, in good weather, a picnic basket (included) with local flavors will have been prepared for you to climb the island (note that the difference in altitude is accessible to most walkers) to enjoy the view of the Archipelago surrounding your place of stay.

Late afternoon and evening free. If, at dinner (included), you find yourself at the table with "coasters" (people from the Lower Shore), your questions will normally be followed by interesting answers about life in this region that is not only remote but also isolated from the Quebec road network. You will also learn about the ties that bind these people to Newfoundland, including the small town of Saint-Anthony.
3

Day 3: An escape of a few hours in Chevery, on the mainland.

We are staying on a granite island, a real rock with the constructions on stilts that this implies, with the abundant presence of lichens, mosses and small shrubs. It is also very interesting to know the Borealie that awaits us on the mainland. Typical trees and flowers of the region, a trail of great interest (4 km round trip) leading to the Nétagamiou waterfall, a long beach bordering the village. The whole thing makes us understand how we could choose to settle in this place and form a community where the regional public service is largely represented.

After breakfast at your cottage on the island, which you will have had time to get used to, you will board the ferry Les Eaux scintillantes (we hope they will sparkle for you that morning...) to discover the youngest village of the Lower North Shore established on a sandy point; a village considered an administrative center for the region, where life is good.

From Cross River (Rivière-à-la Croix) to the Nétagamiou River (in Innu Nutuakamiu meaning "river widening to form a large basin of calm water"), you will discover the natural beauties of this beautiful part of the country where the notion of time is not the same since we live in the rhythm of the seasons. In fact, depending on the season, you will be able to pick the small fruits native to the region (red seeds or Ida's vine cranberry, cloudberry or Chicoutai and wild blueberries). After your hike up the trail to see the 15-meter high waterfall and your picking, you will enjoy a lunch (schedule to be determined on the day depending on weather conditions) and hear your guide tell you a bit of history and about the way of life of the Chevery residents. You will be escorted back to the boat landing to return to Harrington Island where you will spend your last evening and night. Evening meal served at your lodge.
4

Day 4: Return day to Natashquan

Last breakfast at your gite. Your host drives you (your luggage) back to the dock. It's time to take the fast ferry for the fourth time (note that there is also an helicopter that transports students and islanders at certain times of the year from the heliport on the heights of the village). You will be in Chevery in time for your return flight to the village of Natashquan where Gilles Vigneault was born and spent his childhood, rarely failing to return in the summer. A village with a cultural and patrimonial vocation that you will have the opportunity to appreciate for the part of the day that you will have after your landing and according to your personal plans. You will have been introduced to the main places to visit.

Let us mention, among others, the tourist reception center, the church, the old school, the heritage site of the family of the poet and national chansonnier, the café on the beach and the restaurant on the Petite Natashquan River for your meals. Possible contacts with representatives of the Innu community of Nutashkuan. Your vehicle will be waiting for you near the airport terminal. You are 1.5 hours away from Havre-Saint-Pierre, a little more than 2 hours from Longue-Pointe-Mingan (two places from which cruises to the Mingan Archipelago Natural Park Reserve depart in good weather). The city of Sept-Iles is 4 hours away.

Tour Location

1.877.573.2678

Lundi - vendredi : 8h à 17h

Tel : 1.877.573.2678 Courriel : info@voyagescoste.ca

Haut
 

La Grande Séduction

À partir de 1175.65$

par personne

Le forfait « La Grande Séduction » sur la typique et fabuleuse île de Harrington Harbour (lieu de tournage du film qui a fait rire bien des québécois, aussi touchés par l’environnement visuel des lieux), est présentement offert par Voyages CoSte* jusqu’au 2 septembre 2021.

Prix par personne en occupation double, à partir de : 1175.65$ par personne occ. double sans les taxes.

Ce séjour de pur dépaysement comprend un vol aller-retour au départ d’un non-moins célèbre village, Natashquan, pour trois nuitées passées sur l’Île des légendes incluant une presque journée (am et pm) dans le centre administratif de Chevery sur le continent de cette Basse-Côte-Nord que l’on rejoint par un traversier rapide que vous utiliserez dès votre arrivée. Une balade d’aventure!

« L’art de décrocher » de la vie citadine s’il en est un, ça se passe bien ici : village de pêcheurs fondé en 1871 par des familles terre-neuviennes qui prennent bien soin de leur île ne dépassant guère 250 habitants, il n’y a pas de rue à Harrington Harbour. En lieu et place, des trottoirs de bois et des passerelles piétonnes. Une île à explorer au gré des heures qui, là-bas, s’égrènent lentement. Observation du quotidien d’un petit village qui pourrait se trouver en Patagonie au sud de nos Amériques. Mais nous sommes ici bel et bien en Boréalie maritime en notre moyen-nord québécois à cheval sur le cinquantième parallèle. Sur l’île, le véhicule tout usage est le quad pour aller à la poste, faire son épicerie, aller travailler à l’usine de traitement des produits de la mer et pour transporter vos bagages entre le quai et votre gîte où l’on vous servira des repas savoureux.

* Coopérative de solidarité en tourisme équitable, votre agence de voyages réceptive dédiée aux régions Minganie & Basse-Côte-Nord.

Harrington Harbour
Basse-Côte-Nord
HH vie sereine Alberte

Quant au village de Chevery, où se trouve l’aéroport, chef-lieu de la municipalité régionale regroupant 5 localités distantes, il s’agit de la plus récente agglomération sur la Côte à cette latitude. On parle généralement l’anglais en ces lieux de pures découvertes; c’est que nous nous trouvons, en cette partie méconnue du Québec-maritime, comme si nous explorions une typique excroissance du Grand Rocher granitique qu’est Terre-Neuve. Quelques familles francophones sont établies à Chevery; ce qui vous permettra de bénéficier d’un.e guide bilingue sur le continent.

Les départs se font tous les lundis de Natashquan, en tout début de journée.

Ce que comprend votre forfait :

Vol de Natashquan/Chevery (aller-retour) Air Liaison

L’hébergement pour 3 nuits en gite 2 *avec salle de bain partagée

Repas : 3 petits déjeuners, 2 diners, 3 soupers

1 visite guidée du village de Harrington-Harbour, un droit accès à la Maison Rowsell, une visite guidée du village de Chevery et de ses environs

Traversée de Chevery à Harrington-Harbour pendant le séjour (STQ)

Ce que ne comprend pas votre forfait :

Les repas, visites et excursions non mentionnées au programme

Le vin et les boissons aux repas

Les pourboires

Les dépenses personnelles

Les assurances voyage

La manutention d’une valise

Les taxes (TPS&TVQ) et frais (taxe d'hébergement & FICAV) applicables.

  • Départ
    20 juin au 02 septembre 2021
  • Inclus
    Hébergement
    Repas
  • Non inclus
    Taxes et frais
    Les pourboires
    Les assurances voyage
    Les dépenses personnelles
1

Jour 1 : les lundis, 19 et 26 Juillet, 2, 9, 16, 23 et 30 Août 2021

(Natashquan - Harrington Harbour – Natashquan et activités sur place)

Note pour la veille de votre départ: selon disponibilité* à Natahquan on peut (moyennant supplément) inclure le souper et la nuitée du dimanche au lundi am, jour de votre départ en avion. Sinon, vous aurez à quitter tôt votre hébergement, préalablement réservé à Rivière-au-Tonnerre (base de notre agence coopérative), à Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan ou à Havre-Saint-Pierre (toujours selon disponibilité) pour être à l’aéroport de Natashquan à 09h00 au plus tard. Si vous avez logé la veille à Rivière-au-Tonnerre, calculez 3 heures de route (donc départ à 06h00 am). Autrement,  on doit prévoir normalement 115 minutes (de Havre-Saint-Pierre) à 140 min. de route (de Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan) et assurez-vous de vous être muni (en location) du CD routier ou de la clé routière USB « Sur la route de Natashquan » pour agrémenter votre parcours en audio. Il n’y a pas de service de téléphonie cellulaire sur la route, sauf entre Mingan (Ekuanitshit et quelques kilomètres après Havre-Saint-Pierre. Ceci étant noté, voici votre programme au départ de Natashquan.

Votre départ de Natashquan sur les ailes d’Air Liaison est prévu pour 09h50. On se présente une heure à l’avance à l’aérogare locale. Votre voiture vous attendra dans le stationnement adjacent à l’aéroport (le temps que vous saurez en Basse-Côte-Nord car vous quittez ce matin la Moyenne Côte-Nord, plus précisément, la région de la Minganie, pour aller littéralement « par en-bas » du Golfe-Saint-Laurent).

Votre vol vous permet de survoler le coquet petit village de Kegaska (extrémité de la route 138 depuis 2013) et celui de la Romaine (communauté Innue de Unamen Shipu, la plus populeuse à l’est de Sept-Îles, soit celle de Uashat mak Mani-Utenam). Vous atterrissez à Chevery à temps pour l’heure du dîner. Vous prendrez un taxi local pour faire le transfert sur le traversier reliant Chevery à l’Île de Harrington Harbour. Le temps de traverse peut varier entre 45 et 75 minutes selon les conditions de navigation. Voici, à partir de ce moment qu’un autre rythme de vie vous attend en mettant pied sur le quai de Harrington. Votre hôtesse, propriétaire du gîte où vous logerez pour les trois prochaines nuits, vous y attend. Une fois installés, vous aurez le loisir de vous orienter dans le typique village et de vous intégrer doucement à votre nouvel environnement.

Autour de la tablée du soir, à l’heure dite du souper, vous aurez l’occasion de vous voir servis un copieux repas (inclus) de fruits de mer frais provenant de la coopérative locale de transformation de produits marins; coopérative que vous aurez la chance de visiter pendant votre séjour. Vous êtes définitivement dans un environnement maritime et dans une agglomération qui vit résolument de la pêche.

Après le souper, une petite marche (peut-être ?) à la tombée de cette journée de voyage suivie d’une bonne et paisible nuit de repos.

* La disponibilité de l’hébergement à Natashquan ne peut être garantie en raison d’une sur-affluence de la clientèle touristique rapport au parc d’hébergement disponible en saison estivale 2021. Nous vérifierons pour vous.
2

Jour 2 : Exploration de votre village d’accueil, Harrington Harbour.

Après votre petit-déjeuner (inclus), vous rencontrez votre guide local pour un tour guidé (en anglais) qui se fera à pied. On vous présentera les particularités du village, un des trente plus beaux villages du Québec, avec ses trottoirs de bois, l’église du Christ où deux religions sont pratiquées, le monument Jacques-Cartier. Vous en saurez plus sur la dénomination ancienne de l’Ile comme Île de l’Hôpital (en attendant parler du docteur Grenfell), et au sujet de la Grotte de Marguerite associée à l’histoire peu commune de la nièce du sieur La Roque de Roberval qui, en 1540, effectua la traversée de l’Atlantique avec lui. On vous conduira aussi au joli centre d’interprétation de la Maison Rowsell. De plus, ceux et celles qui auront vu le film, reconnaîtront les principaux lieux de tournage où apparaissaient une panoplie d’acteurs dont, entre autres, Raymond Bouchard, David Boutin, Lucie Laurier et Benoît Brière. Deux heures sont prévues pour ce tour accompagné. Par respect pour les propriétés privées, on ne s’approche pas des fenêtres des maisons sur les surfaces gazonnées ou de blé de mer. Un monte-bateau se trouve au bout d’un embranchement du trottoir de bois sur la droite, là où vous pouvez contempler la vie quotidienne et humer l’air du large. Le trottoir rejoint les dernières maisons du village sur la droite. Vous serez surpris d’apercevoir une piscine municipale extérieure en ce village tout à fait singulier au Québec.

De retour à votre gîte, par beau temps, un panier à pique-nique (inclus) aux saveurs locales vous aura été préparé pour l’ascension de l’Île (noter que la dénivellation est accessible à la grande majorité des marcheurs) afin de profiter de la vue sur l’Archipel entourant votre lieu de séjour.

Fin d’après-midi et soirée libre. Si, au souper (inclus), vous vous retrouvez à table avec des « coasters » (gens de la Basse-Côte), vos questions seront normalement suivies de réponses intéressantes quant à la vie en cette région non seulement éloignée mais encore isolée du réseau routier québécois. Vous apprendrez aussi les liens qui unissent ces gens à Terre-Neuve, dont la petite ville de Saint-Anthony.
3

Jour 3 : Une échappée de quelques heures à Chevery, sur la terre ferme.

Nous logeons sur une île de granit, un véritable rocher avec les constructions sur pilotis que cela implique, avec la présence abondante de lichens, de mousses et de petits arbustes. Il est aussi fort intéressant de connaître la Boréalie qui nous attend sur le continent. Arbres et fleurs typiques de la région, un sentier de grand intérêt (4 km aller-retour) menant à la chute Nétagamiou, une longue plage longeant le village. Le tout nous fait comprendre comment on a pu choisir de s’installer à cet endroit et d’y former une communauté où la fonction publique régionale est largement représentée.

C’est donc après le petit-déjeuner à votre gite sur l’Île que vous aurez eu le temps d’apprivoiser que vous embarquerez sur le traversier Les Eaux scintillantes (on souhaite qu’elles scintillent pour vous, ce matin-là…) pour vous rendre découvrir le plus jeune village de la Basse-Côte-Nord établi sur une pointe de sable; village considéré comme un centre administratif pour régional, là où il fait bon vivre.

De Cross River (Rivière-à-la Croix) à la rivière Nétagamiou (en Innu Nutuakamiu signifiant « rivière s’élargissant pour former un grand bassin d’eau calme »), vous découvrirez les beautés naturelles de ce beau coin de pays où la notion du temps n’est pas la même puisqu’on y vit au rythme des saisons. D’ailleurs, justement, selon la saison, vous pourrez cueillir les petits fruits indigènes de la région (graines rouges ou airelle vigne d’Ida, plaquebière ou Chicoutai et bleuets sauvages). Après votre randonnée dans le sentier pour aller voir la chute d’une hauteur de 15 mètres et votre cueillette, vous pourrez prendre un repas du midi (programme défini le jour-même selon les conditions du temps) et entendre votre guide vous raconter des brins d’histoire et vous parler du mode de vie des résidents de Chevery. On vous raccompagne à l’embarcadère du bateau pour regagner l’Île de Harrington où vous passerez votre dernière soirée et votre dernière nuit. Repas du soir servi à votre gite.
4

Jour 4: Jour du retour vers Natashquan

Dernier petit-déjeuner à votre gite. Votre hôte vous reconduit (vos bagages) au quai. C’est l’heure d’emprunter pour la quatrième fois le traversier rapide (note r qu’il y a aussi l’hélicoptère qui transporte les étudiants et les insulaires à certains moments de l’année à partir de l’héliport sur les hauteurs du village). Vous serez à temps à Chevery pour votre vol de retour vers le village de Natashquan où Gilles Vigneault naquit et passa son enfance, manquant rarement d’y retourner en belle saison. Village à vocation culturelle et patrimoniale que vous aurez le loisir d’apprécier pour le pan de journée dont vous disposerez après votre atterrissage et selon vos plans personnels. On vous aura introduit aux principaux lieux à visiter.

Nommons entre autres, le pôle d’accueil touristique, l’église, la vieille école, le site patrimonial de la famille du poète et chansonnier national, café sur la plage et restaurant sur la rivière Petite Natashquan pour vos repas. Contacts possibles avec des représentants de la communauté Innue de Nutashkuan. Votre véhicule vous ayant attendu tout près de l’aérogare, vous êtes à 1h30 de route Havre-Saint-Pierre, un peu plus de 2 heures de Longue-Pointe-Mingan (deux lieux d’où partent, par beau temps, les croisières vers la réserve de parc naturel de l’Archipel de Mingan. La ville de Sept-Iles est à 4 heures de route.

Lieu